

Media Advisory

410 Severn Avenue, Suite 109 · Annapolis, MD 21403 1 (800) YOUR BAY · www.chesapeakebay.net

CONTACT/R.S.V.P.: Margaret Enloe, (410) 267-5740, menloe@chesapeakebay.net

Chesapeake Executive Council Expected to Announce New Leadership and Speak on New Draft Agreement

Next Thursday, **December 12 at 12noon**, the Chesapeake Executive Council will hold a press event to recognize the Chesapeake Bay Program's 30th anniversary, share their thoughts on the new Bay Watershed Agreement (now being drafted) and announce their election of a new Chair.

The public and press are invited **at 11:15a.m.** for a short presentation on the Bay Program's 30-year history and its plans for the future.

WHO: Vincent C. Gray, Mayor, District of Columbia (EC Chair)

Martin O'Malley, Governor, Maryland

Delegate Maggie McIntosh, Chairman, Chesapeake Bay Commission

Robert Perciasepe, Deputy Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Collin O'Mara, Secretary, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Delaware

Andrew Zemba, Director, Department of Environment, Pennsylvania

Doug Domenech, Secretary of Natural Resources, Virginia

Teresa Koon, Assistant Director, Department of Environment, West Virginia

Ann Mills, Deputy Under Secretary, U.S. Department of Agriculture

WHERE: U.S. National Arboretum, Visitors Center, Washington, D.C., N.E.

**Use R Street, NE entrance. For directions, visit the Executive Council webpage.

WHEN: Thursday, December 12, 2013

11:15a.m. Public Presentation: *Recognizing our History, Planning for Our Future:*

30 Years of the Chesapeake Bay Program

12noon Press Conference with Executive Council members

DETAILS: **You will be required to show photo i.d. at the main gate and should identify yourself

as attending the Chesapeake Executive Council event.

RSVP: Margaret Enloe, <u>menloe@chesapeakebay.net</u> or 410-267-5740

The Chesapeake Bay Program is a regional partnership that has coordinated and conducted the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay for 30 years, since its formation thirty years ago in 1983. Partners include the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, representing the federal government; the U.S. Department of Agriculture; the states of Delaware, Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia; the District of Columbia; the Chesapeake Bay Commission, a tri-state legislative body; and advisory groups of citizens, scientists and local government officials.